In addition to the 60+ performance and production award categories for excellence in Bay Area Theatre, the San Francisco Bay Area Theatre Critics Circle also presents four Special Awards recognizing long time contributors to the Bay area theatre scene and exciting new talents and organizations. The SFBATCC is proud to announce the following recipients, who will be presented their awards at the 42nd Annual Excellence in Theatre Awards Gala to be held at San Francisco's Victoria Theatre on Monday, March 26, 2018.


The Jerry Friedman Lifetime Achievement Award is named for the KGO Radio theatre critic who served as SFBATCC president for 22 years. This award is given to an individual who has furthered the creativity and growth of theater in the Bay Area throughout his/her career.

                                                                             This year we honor 



Margo Hall 


Actor, singer, director, playwright, and educator Margo Hall has done it all and done it well. With acting credits from A Raisin in the Sun to Be Bop Baby and directing credits from Simpatico to Barbecue, Ms. Hall has long been a major contributor to the Bay area theatre scene and a main reason that it enjoys its excellent reputation.


Ms. Hall has worked with A.C.T., Aurora Theater, Berkeley Rep, Cal Shakes, Magic Theater, Marin Theatre Company, and SF Playhouse and is one of the founding members of Camp Santo.


A lifetime dedicated to theatre deserves the recognition of the San Francisco Bay Area Theatre Critics Circle and we are pleased to honor her with this award. 




The Paine Knickerbocker Continuing Contribution Award is named for the former theatre critic of The San Francisco Chronicle and is presented to an organization that has made a continuing contribution to Bay Area theatre.

                                                                           This year we honor



San Jose Stage Company


Founded 35 years ago, the San Jose Stage Company - also known as "The Stage" - has dedicated itself to its mission of illuminating the human condition through imaginative and edgy theatrical experiences that spark ideas and dialogue with the audience. They achieve this with an emphasis on producing new works by emerging and established playwrights. This decades-long tradition of serving the South Bay artistic community through the creation of quality theatre makes it a worthy recipient of this honor. 




The Gene Price Professionalism Award is named for the former arts editor and long-time theatre critic of the San Francisco Bay Times and honors a person who embodies superlative professionalism and passion for Bay Area theatre.

                                                                                        This year we honor



Eric Chazankin


Eric is one of the most respected members of the North Bay theatre community. He expresses his passion for theatre through his photographic skills which are called upon regularly by theatre companies, large and small, who wish to bring the most professional look in advertising and publicity to their shows. Eric devotes and donates countless hours in the service of the theatre community and brings the same skill set to each production, whether it be on a forty-foot stage in a 500-seat house or the small space of a storefront theatre.  


Eric's work has been seen in every local newspaper including the San Francisco Chronicle as well as TBA Magazine and the current issue of American Theatre. The generous access he grants to his photographs allows hundreds of theatre artists to share them via social media. There is no doubt that a "photo by Eric" has been the Facebook profile pic or cover photo of every North Bay theatre artist at one time or another. 


Eric's passion for theatre and professionalism can be seen in every photograph he takes. It is the Critics Circle's privilege to recognize that in awarding him this honor. 




The Annette Lust Emerging Talent Award is named for the late Dominican University professor and longtime Critics Circle member and is given to a promising new theatrical talent or an organization that has demonstrated early in its existence the potential to have a significant impact on Bay Area theatre.
                                                                                        This year we honor



                                                                             FaultLine Theater


FaultLine Theater, founded in 2012, is a non-profit performing arts organization that empowers emerging artists to create vibrant new works. They turn fresh scripts and bold ideas into fully-realized, polished productions and have produced 22 full length plays since their inception. They've opened their doors to the young and the skeptical and have built a welcoming artistic community to cultivate a demand for the art of live performance. Their commitment to original works and local artists and their appeal to an under-served demographic is commendable.   


Join us in honoring these and many other Bay Area artists and companies at the

San Francisco Bay Area Theatre Critics Circle 42nd Annual Excellence in Theatre Awards Gala

 to be held at the Victoria Theatre in San Francisco on Monday, March 26, 2018.

Print Print | Sitemap
Maintained by SFBATCC CIO Harry Duke / Updated 12/12/18